More flexibility through modular multilevel inverters

Why is flexQgrid also investigating power electronic converters as a link between generation units, storage and the grid?

In the power grid, many households are no longer just energy consumers, but also energy suppliers. The expansion of photovoltaics means that more and more energy is being generated decentrally. However, the time at which the generated energy is fed into the grid has so far been directly linked to environmental influences, such as the momentary solar radiation. Energy storage systems can, on the one hand, optimize power consumption in households and, on the other hand, support secure grid operation within the framework of the quota-based grid traffic light system. In this context, power electronic converters also play an important role in the power grids of the future as a link between generation units, storage systems and the grid.

Integration of the inverters into flexQgrid

As part of the "flexQgrid" project, the Electrotechnical Institute (ETI) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is developing a "Modular Multilevel Converter" (MMC) with integrated battery modules for use in the low-voltage distribution grid.

The MMC consists of a large number of cells of the same type, which work with semiconductors of lower reverse voltage than in conventional low-voltage inverters. On the one hand, this reduces losses, and on the other, the smaller voltage steps result in a smoother voltage curve and thus higher voltage quality. In contrast to previous AC- or DC-coupled storage systems, with the MMC the battery storage can be integrated directly into the inverter cells. For this purpose, part of the cells is equipped with battery modules, as indicated in the diagram.

The inverter is built as a prototype and controlled with the signal processing system developed at ETI. The self-developed signal processing system makes it possible to integrate an interface with little effort, which allows the inverter to be operated with maximum flexibility with regard to the power to be supplied. The Controllable Local Systems (CLS) interface provided for this purpose by the Smart Meter Gateway (SMGW) is integrated directly in the inverter by this concept.

However, in the event of critical grid conditions and network faults, the latency of this TCP/IP-based communication system is too high in many cases. In the case of such dynamic processes in the grid, the inverter must derive a grid-stabilizing behavior from the electrical variables of the grid.

The grid codes specify how the converter must behave in the event of voltage and frequency deviations. Measures for rapid grid identification and grid support are the subject of research at the Electrotechnical Institute.

In the last phase of the project, such fast and critical network states are therefore to be measured with the set-up converter on the basis of real grid data from the measurement campaign (as reported here ) can be simulated in the laboratory and the real-time capability of the control and the converter topology can be tested.

Share this article

Mehr Flexibilität durch Modulare Multilevel-Umrichter

Warum untersucht flexQgrid auch leistungselektronische Umrichter als Bindeglied zwischen Erzeugungsanlagen, Speichert und dem Netz?

Im Stromnetz sind viele Haushalte nicht mehr nur Energieverbraucher, sondern auch Energielieferanten. Durch den Photovoltaik-Ausbau wird immer mehr Energie dezentral erzeugt. Allerdings ist der Einspeisezeitpunkt der erzeugten Energie bisher direkt an Umwelteinflüsse, wie die momentane Sonneneinstrahlung, gekoppelt. Energiespeicher können einerseits in den Haushalten den Stromverbrauch optimieren und andererseits den sicheren Netzbetrieb im Rahmen des quotenbasierten Netzampel unterstützen. Dabei spielen auch die leistungselektronischen Umrichter als Bindeglied zwischen Erzeugungsanlagen, Speichern und dem Netz eine wichtige Rolle in den Stromnetzen der Zukunft.

Einbindung der Umrichter in flexQgrid

Im Rahmen des Projekts „flexQgrid“ entwickelt das Elektrotechnische Institut (ETI) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) einen „Modularen Multilevel-Umrichter“ (MMC) mit integrierten Batteriemodulen für den Einsatz im Niederspannungsverteilnetz.

Der MMC besteht aus einer Vielzahl an gleichartigen Zellen, die mit Halbleitern geringerer Sperrspannung als bei üblichen Wechselrichtern in der Niederspannung auskommen. Einerseits werden dadurch die Verluste reduziert, andererseits ergibt sich durch die kleineren Spannungsstufen eine glattere Spannungskurve und somit eine höhere Spannungsqualität. Im Gegensatz zu bisherigen AC- oder DC- gekoppelten Speichersystemen können beim MMC die Batteriespeicher direkt in die Umrichterzellen integriert werden. Dazu wird ein Teil der Zellen mit Batteriemodulen ausgestattet, wie in der Grafik angedeutet.

Der Umrichter wird als Prototyp aufgebaut und mit dem am ETI entwickelten Signalverarbeitungssystem angesteuert. Durch die selbst entwickelte Signalverarbeitung ergibt sich die Möglichkeit mit geringem Aufwand eine Schnittstelle zu integrieren, die es erlaubt den Umrichter mit maximaler Flexibilität hinsichtlich der zu liefernden Leistung zu betreiben. Die zu diesem Zweck vom Smart-Meter-Gateway (SMGW) dafür vorgesehene Controllable-Local-Systems-(CLS)-Schnittstelle wird durch dieses Konzept direkt im Umrichter integriert.

Bei kritischen Netzzuständen und Netzfehlern ist aber die Latenz dieses TCP/IP-basierten Kommunikationssystems in vielen Fällen zu hoch. Bei solchen dynamischen Vorgängen im Netz muss der Umrichter aus den elektrischen Größen des Netzes ein netzstabilisierendes Verhalten ableiten.

In den Netzanschlussbedingungen („Grid Codes“) wird vorgegeben, wie sich der Umrichter bei Spannungs- und Frequenzabweichungen zu verhalten hat. Maßnahmen zur schnellen Netzidentifikation und Netzstützung sind dabei Gegenstand der Forschung am Elektrotechnischen Institut.

In der letzten Projektphase sollen solche schnellen und kritischen Netzzustände mit dem aufgebauten Umrichter daher anhand von echten Netzdaten aus der Messkampagne (wie hier berichtet) im Labornetz nachgestellt und die Echtzeitfähigkeit der Regelung und der Umrichtertopologie erprobt werden.

Teilen Sie jetzt diesen Artikel: