First survey on the acceptance of the quota model

As part of the flexQgrid project, the Institute of Industrial Management and Production (IIP) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) conducted a first major survey on the acceptance of the quota model and willingness to participate in the quota model. For the study, just over 1000 people from all over Germany were asked about their acceptance of and possible willingness to participate in the quota model by means of a representative online survey. The results of the survey show that, overall, the quota model presented meets with a high level of acceptance and interest among respondents. The respondents rate both the financial benefits of participation and the positive effects on the environment and the energy transition as high. The potential risks of participation are considered to be comparatively low. In addition, the respondents generally see themselves in a position to adapt their energy consumption flexibly to a quota at times.

By means of a decision experiment, the study also surveyed the preferences of respondents with regard to different designs of a quota model. The results show that, in addition to appropriate monetary compensation for participation, it is above all the time of day of a quota that determines the willingness to participate. Respondents prefer to restrict their consumption in the morning; mornings and evenings are in the middle and restrictions in the afternoon meet with the least acceptance. In contrast, the number of quotas that can be called per year and the maximum duration of a quota play a comparatively minor role for respondents.

Overall, the results cast a positive light on the quota model in terms of acceptance and willingness to participate among the population. The perceived benefits of the model outweigh the risks and costs of possible participation in the eyes of the respondents. Furthermore, the results suggest that certain restrictions under a quota are accepted as long as the financial incentives provide adequate compensation.

Share this article

Erste Erhebung zur Akzeptanz des Quotenmodells

Im Rahmen des flexQgrid-Projekts hat das Institut für Industriebetriebslehre und Industrielle Produktion (IIP) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine erste große Erhebung zur Akzeptanz des Quotenmodells und Teilnahmebereitschaft für das Quotenmodell durchgeführt. Für die Studie wurden mittels einer repräsentativen Online-Umfrage knapp über 1.000 Personen aus ganz Deutschland zu ihrer Akzeptanz und möglichen Teilnahmebereitschaft am Quotenmodell befragt. Die Ergebnisse der Befragung zeigen, dass das vorgestellte Quotenmodell insgesamt auf große Akzeptanz und hohes Interesse unter den Befragten stößt. Die Befragten schätzen sowohl die finanziellen Vorteile einer Teilnahme als auch die positiven Auswirkungen auf Umwelt und Energiewende als hoch ein. Mögliche Risiken einer Teilnahme werden dabei als vergleichsweise gering eingeschätzt. Zudem sehen sich die Befragten grundsätzlich in der Lage, ihren Energieverbrauch zeitweise flexibel an eine Quote anzupassen.

Mittels eines Entscheidungsexperiments wurden in der Studie zudem die Präferenzen der Befragten hinsichtlich verschiedener Ausgestaltungen eines Quotenmodells abgefragt. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass neben einer angemessenen monetären Kompensation der Teilnahme vor allem die Tageszeit einer Quote über die Teilnahmebereitschaft entscheidet. Dabei bevorzugen die Befragten eine Einschränkung ihres Verbrauchs am Morgen; Vormittage und Abende liegen im Mittelfeld und Einschränkungen am Nachmittag stoßen auf die geringste Akzeptanz. Die Anzahl der Quoten, die pro Jahr ausgerufen werden können, sowie die maximale Dauer einer Quote spielen dagegen eine vergleichsweise geringe Rolle für die Befragten.

Insgesamt werfen die Ergebnisse ein positives Licht auf das Quotenmodell hinsichtlich der Akzeptanz und Teilnahmebereitschaft in der Bevölkerung. Die wahrgenommenen Vorteile des Modells überwiegen in den Augen der Befragten die Risiken und Kosten einer möglichen Teilnahme. Weiterhin lassen die Ergebnisse darauf schließen, dass gewisse Einschränkungen im Rahmen einer Quote in Kauf genommen werden, solange die finanziellen Anreize eine angemessene Kompensation bieten.

Teilen Sie jetzt diesen Artikel: